As many of my friends can attest to, my love for cooking has gone into overdrive this year, especially as the cutting breezes and gloomy downpours of winter have set in.  So I guess it was only a matter of time until I could no longer put off watching the movie Julie & Julia.

I’ve always been a firm believer in reading the book before watching the movie… but I made an exception to the rule today.  It’ll be interesting to do it the other way around for once I guess.

Where to begin? I adore Amy Adams. She has a way of portraying emotionally driven characters (ones that I might otherwise have found to be annoying) in a very real, fragile and relate-able way. Watching her, I felt like I AM Julie Powell, and Julie Powell is me. (Of course this is a credit to many other people, namely, writer, director etc.)  That feeling of being without direction and questioning, ‘what is it that I’m supposed to do with myself?’ or even ‘what is it that I would truly LOVE doing all the time?’… are there many people out there feeling that way too? It felt like it was just me. It makes me wonder though, whether it’s not just the flighty Gen-Y characteristic that’s the cause of this melancholia of feeling lost.

How sweet it would be to solve all of that by consistently cooking and blogging for 365 days.   And how delicious it would be to feel supported in doing just that.  I fell in love with both Julie & Julia’s husbands.  Saint or not,  I’d think everyone would want someone like that in their lives … someone who stands by you and validates what you’re doing, no matter how strange or silly or even utterly pointless it may seem to anyone else.  That’s all anyone wants on some basic level isn’t it? Not necessarily a lover, partner or spouse to who you could say “You are the butter to my bread, the breath to my life”, but just someone to guide you through the dark tunnels and hold your hand as you step into the light.

Julia Childs may have been Julie’s hero… but Julie Powell, you are mine.  You’re flawed and vulnerable, and you saved yourself.  For many consecutive moments, you made me feel like I could do that too.  524 recipes in 365 days.

…. Well not quite that, but more like I can find my own 524 recipes in 365 days challenge!  Thank you, Julie & Julia. Bon Appetit!

3 thoughts on “Bon Appetit!

      1. Oh…My….Goodness !
        My kindred spirit Irnin, Julie and Julia is my favourite friend in a film, I put this film on to get get dressed to practically, it is my companion. How about that scene where Julie is on the floor covered in chicken guts, crying hysterically, feeling utterly sorry for herself ? It’s me ! And how she pulls herself instantaneously together for a phone conversation, her husband must take her for a nut case – yet, like the people in my life (luckily) they put up with these episodes. And yet seeing Julie behave like this makes me feel all the more hopeless too and pathetic, but certainly not alone.

        A little while ago I made a love declaration to the pickled cucumber girl that I fancied, Amie, saying how I wished to cook things in butter with her – like in the film, where butter makes everything better. For my birthday this year Amie gave me ‘The Art of French Cooking’. The most beautiful gift, the thought meant the world to me. This year I feel like I am travelling through a lot of uncertain tunnels and this thing called art seems hard to stand by. It is certainly easier to see the light when you have a beautiful hand to hold, one that nurtures you, and can also cook a mean feast !

        Let’s cook together Irnin…you, Julie, Julia and I.

        Like

Leave a Reply

