1. There’s a reason why I no longer go out for long and leisurely walks…. Strange men who are driving past, suddenly slow their cars next to me and do everything from waving, hollering obscenities to asking for digits.  It’s pretty tragic that even my relatively quiet streets aren’t safe from the likes of propositioning drivers.

2. It is really satisfying to scribble on paper, as opposed to typing on Word.

3. If I am running late for a train, the ticket machine is always going to be faster than the ticket attendant…. unless there is a person with a confused look on their face in front of it. (Note: If you happen to be said confused person, the next time someone offers to help you, instead of scowling and  continuing to fail at making the machine give you a ticket- resulting in everyone in line behind you also missing the train- accept the offer.)

4. If I covet something too much, it will never, ever live up to my expectations…. be it a person, an object or experience.

5. There is no such thing as a perfect day.  Newton said it best, “for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction”.  If 3 good things happen and I’m jazzed about what a perfect day I’m having… I might then lose my water bottle on this scorcher of a day, for example.  So a day when nothing terribly exciting happens, but also, nothing bad happens, may be the most fulfilling kind.

6. Old friends are like old jumpers, no matter how old or ratty, I’ll know every hole, stain and loose thread; it will know all my bumps, awkward limbs and surface sensitivities. Best of all, it always fits snugly in all the right ways, no matter how long it’s been since the last wear.

7. Ironing is therapeutic.

One thought on “Oft Forgotten Lessons

Leave a Reply

